15 of my Favourite Things

I was leafing through an old magazine recently while waiting in the dentist surgery when I came across an article about a minor celebrity, entitled 15 Favourite Things. Even though I'm not a fan of this particular celebrity, I was fascinated to read what she listed as her favourite things, and it gave me the idea for this blog. Who doesn't enjoy to read and write these types of posts? I know I do, and if it inspires you to do the same thing, drop the link in my comments so I can check it out. 😊

1. Quiet mornings.
I love mornings without an alarm, when I can wake early and curl up on the sofa with a cup of tea, a book, and my cat Masai.

2. Rainy days.
Although I celebrate those rare warm and sunny days, I do love the rain. Especially when I'm safely ensconced at home, watching it from a window.

3. Books.
I love to read, I love to buy, I love the feel and the smell of a new paperback just as much as an old library book. I love books. Libraries and bookshops are my favourite places.

4. Laughter.
There is nothing better than uncontrollable laughter to bring people together. I love humour and, as someone who has struggled with depression throughout her life, I love nothing more than the things that make me laugh.

5. Travelling.
I do love to travel. And by travel, I mean the actual act of travelling to get to a destination. While it's amazing to visit a new country and discover the sights, my holiday always begins with the journey, whether it be by train or car or plane. Other people may find this part stressful and inconvenient. I relish it as the first stage of my holiday.

6. Red wine.
I like nothing more than to end my day with a nice glass of red and a good book. While I don't claim to be a connoisseur, I do love a reasonably priced juicy Australian red.

7. My cats.
I have two cats; Masai, my big, black-coated warrior, a rescue from the Cats Protection League and top-class hunter, and Sox, aka Mrs P or Mimi, my tiny tuxedo-coated lady, who hates everyone but myself and Ryan. As Jean Cocteau said, "I love cats because I love my home and after a while they become it's visible soul." I can't imagine my home without a cat in it.

8. My home.
I am definitely a homebody, and I love to spend time in the privacy of my own home. I never get bored or lonely.

9. Ryan.
My son is the most important thing in my life, ever. I see him as an extension of me, and never tire of his company, even when he's being a brat. People wear me out and I often crave time alone, but the definition of alone to me is "at home with Ryan."

10. Getting into bed.
The highlight of my weekday is generally the moment I crawl into bed with a glass of wine and a book or a decent film/programme on the box. Only then can I truly relax.

11. Dogs.
I love it when I visit someone's house and they have a dog. I openly admit to preferring animals to people in many cases, and dogs are amongst my favourite animals. You know where you stand with a dog. It will greet you ecstatically, whimpering and slobbering, and make you feel like the centre of its world. Unless it doesn't like you, and then it just steers clear of you. I appreciate that honesty.

12. Honesty.
As I mentioned above, I appreciate honesty. I don't like liars, or two-faced people, or hidden agendas. I much prefer honesty, no matter how brutal. Yes, it may hurt. But at least it prevents deception and betrayal.

13. Nature.
Being surrounded by nature is something I adore. I love to spend time at the beach, in the countryside, near trees and babbling brooks. I would love to live in a more rural area. One day maybe.

14. Self-knowledge.
Now, this sounds a little more pompous than it actually is. I enjoy anything that helps me to understand myself better. This could be spending time alone, mulling over certain issues and quandaries, and straightening things in my mind. Or it could be taking part in questionnaires on Facebook based on which picture of an eye I am most drawn to. I am fascinated when the result holds any accuracy. MBTI is a massive favourite at the minute.

15. My mum's cooking.
I have a very indifferent relationship with food. On a normal day, I eat because I need to, from a survival point of view, and it is rarely anything fancy. I can't seem to muster the motivation to get creative in the kitchen, although I really wish I could. On my days off, I may try something a little different, but I much prefer to be cooked for. I appreciate food so much more when I haven't slaved over it, and my mum makes the best food ever. Especially lasagne!

2 thoughts on “15 of my Favourite Things

Leave a Reply

