Memories

As some of you may be aware, my son Ryan left primary school yesterday after eight years. He first attended their nursery class back when he was a tiny 3 year-old, and stuck with Brookacre Primary School right through to Year 6 and his SATS this year. He and his classmates are moving on to high school in September, and the teachers held a special leavers assembly yesterday morning. As well as performances, readings, and songs from the children of Year 6, the headmistress presented them each with a memory book to take home, filled with pictures and work dating back to their first year at the school.

It was a beautiful momento to bring home, and both Ryan and I enjoyed looking through it together and reminiscing about those earlier years.

It will definitely be something I am going to treasure. I have a box of trinkets and keepsakes that I have collected since he was born. In his early years of school, they sent a lot of his work home with him, and I have kept it all, every unidentifiable painting and mangled creation. They are all beautiful to me, because my son made them.

Yes, I'm a sentimental old fool, but I can't be the only one. There must be other parents out there who want to collect every moment of their child's life and treasure it. This will probably be the only chance I get to be a mother, and I want to make the most of every moment, and every memory.

This book, which Ryan calls the 'black book', but which is actually grey, is a brilliant touch to the end of his primary school education, and I am pleased with Brookacre for taking the time to create one for each child. It will probably go on to gather dust in a cupboard somewhere, but I will know it is there to refer to whenever I need to, a part of our family history.

2 thoughts on “Memories

Leave a Reply

