Slow Cooker Italian Chicken Stew

Okay, for those of you who are familiar with my other blog, you will know that I am no domestic goddess. In fact, I am much more of a slap-dash, frozen food, stick-it-in-the-oven-and-time-it kind of gal. However, following doctor’s orders after slightly disappointing blood test results (cholesterol!) I have vowed to attempt to eat a little healthier. I say a little, because I’m certainly not going to turn into Nigella Lawson overnight. 

So today, I am attempting the above – slow cooker Italian chicken stew. Ryan is notoriously moany when it comes to casseroles and stews, so I’m going to team it with a serving of pasta, because he loves it.

Slow cooker Italian chicken stew.

serves: 8 | prep: 0:10 | cook 8:00

Ingredients

1.2kg mixed chicken thighs/drumsticks (I used diced chicken instead)

1 tbsp olive oil

1/2 cup (125ml) dry white wine

1/2 cup (125ml) chicken stock

1 large brown onion

2 medium leeks, sliced

2 medium carrots, diced

2 sticks celery, diced

2 x 400g tins diced tomatoes

1 tbsp rosemary, chopped

Method

Season chicken pieces well with salt and pepper. Heat oil in a large frypan over medium heat. Brown chicken in batches and place in slow cooker.

Pour wine and chicken stock into the pan and bring to the boil. Scrape down pan and pour over chicken pieces.

Place vegetables, tinned tomatoes rosemary into the slow cooker with chicken.

Cover and cook for 6-8 hours on low or 4-6 hours on high.

Serve with pasta or mashed potato and green vegetables.

AFTERWARDS..

It went down surprisingly well with Ryan. He shovelled it down, so either he was extra hungry, or the pasta trick worked. I, on the other hand, found it lacking in something, and that may have been the leek, which Asda failed to deliver in my home shopping (they were out of stock, or some baloney!) Also, I used red wine instead of white. 

Top marks for satisfying the kid, but I’ll be doing some tinkering with the ingredients next time until I get it right.

Leave a Reply

