What’s in my handbag?


Now, I wonder how many of you are truly interested in what’s in my handbag. 

Personally, I rarely, if ever, wonder what a person keeps in their handbag, but I know that many are more curious about such things. A woman’s handbag is a sacred place to some. For example, my son’s father, who I was with for six years, refused to go anywhere near mine. If I asked him to pass me something from my bag, he would start to visibly sweat and end up almost throwing the bag at me rather than reach inside it. Very strange! Must have been some kind of phobia!

My handbag, by all accounts, is rather boring. It is one of those massive, beach-bag type affairs with tassels. I spotted it in the window as I was passing my local Peacocks last year, just before my holiday to Crete. I had been looking for something a little more roomy as my petite pink Dune bag, whilst very lovely, was just too small, and I was growing tired of attempting to cram everything into it every day. I wanted something I could rummage around in and still have room for extras, and my Peacocks bag is ideal for that. In fact, there are times when it is too big and I have to fish around for ages trying to find something, which is a little irritating. But anyway, I digress..

It is big, and grey, and tassly, and I can easily fit a bottle of wine in it. Not that I carry wine round on a daily basis, but it saves me the 5p carrier bag charge when I nip to the Spar for a bottle of cab sauv. And it was perfect for my carry-on during the flight to Crete.

I now use it as my everyday bag, and it’s contents are a little less exotic than my holiday gear. So, let’s examine..

1. Make-up bag. Now I’m not one of those girls that are particularly adept at, or even actually that interested in, make-up. But I do like to look presentable, and unfortunately make-up is probably the only way that will happen. My make-up bag consists of liquid eyeliner, mascara, kohl, eyebrow pencil x 2, concealer, a small brush, tweezers, and a mirror. I don’t wear foundation and am clueless about contouring, so it’s all about “emphasising the eyes”. On a normal day, I don’t wear kohl, which has a tendency to smudge, so don’t check on my face throughout the day. So I don’t actually need to carry make-up around, but I do. Just in case.

2. Brush. I am a little bit obsessed with my hair, and it has to be perfectly straight and frizz-free. It is also very fine, and if I didn’t brush it regularly, it would end up stringy and lank. I’m a lot better than I used to be, when I would stress over the slightest kink or imperfection. Now I’m a little more relaxed, but I always carry my brush, just in case, along with my next item..

3. John Frieda Frizz Ease Secret Agent. A handy cream that smoothes down any frizzy spots. Couldn’t live without it these days!

4. Purse. Obviously. Although I could do with a new one. I’ve had my current purse for a fair few years now, but it’s still in one piece so a replacement isn’t top of my shopping list. It’s a red Jane Norman affair that I bought in the sale a long time ago, but as I said, it’s still in one piece and can still reasonably execute the job it was purchased for, which is to hold money and cards.

5. Nail file. As I write this, I realise how utterly pointless a lot of this stuff is, as I very rarely use any of them. However, I like to think ahead, and I am definitely convinced that if I didn’t carry this stuff, I would desperately need it at some point and curse myself for not carrying it. Anyway, my nail file is pretty cool, a plastic one in its own case by All For Eve at Tesco. My cat is strangely addicted to mauling it, so I tend to file my nails when he isn’t around!

6. A pair of contact lenses. Just in case I have trouble with the ones I’m wearing and need to swap them. I’m blind as a bat so, if I don’t have my glasses, these are kind of essential.

7. A pack of playing cards. I have no idea.

8. A spare car key. Again, just in case.

9. Body Shop Brazil nut lip balm. I suffer from constantly dry lips, and own about a million different lip balms. Oddly enough, I don’t remember ever having finished one, but I tend to regularly buy new ones if I haven’t got one on me. So I keep a balm in my bag now.

10. An empty I ❤️ Cyprus lighter. Bought in Cyprus back in 2015 and discarded to the bottom of my bag when it ran out of gas.

11. A 50ml tub of Garnier Skin Naturals Intensive Moisturising Cream. I also suffer from very dry skin and like to carry moisturiser. 

12. An ASDA receipt. For red wine and a pen, purchased yesterday and priced at £11.98. Shopping for essentials (well, the wine anyway!)

And that is all I have in my bag at this moment in time, as I cleared a lot of rubbish out last week. 😊

6 thoughts on “What’s in my handbag?

  1. femalesformingsentences says:

    I dread to think what the list of contents of my bag would be, I have emergency kid snacks, fidget spinners & allsorts shoved in at the bottom, it’s making me feel a good clear out is probably in order 😁

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

