Take Two!

Okay, so here goes! My second attempt at a WordPress blog! Although my old blog is still up-and-running, it has taken a different direction to what I had initially planned. For those of you who are familiar with my work over at http://www.fragmentsofmymindweb.wordpress.com, you will probably know about my struggles with depression and finding my true path in life. I have skimmed over certain areas of my story, along with dark poetry from my Facebook page of the same name, and I am more than happy for the blog to continue in that direction. However, with Is it Friday yet?, I want to try something different.

Some of you may have read about my desire to become a writer, and this is something that will probably never change. I have been writing, on and off, since I was very young, but have never had a great deal of confidence in my own ability. Until starting my blog, I have never showcased my work, ever. I guess I have always been too afraid, and this has coloured my whole life. I have constantly found reasons not to do the things I love, and have settled for mediocre and safe.

Well, this has to change!

Now, at 40, and working as a part-time payroll administrator for a recruitment agency, I am certain that there is something better out there for me. If I don’t follow my dreams now, I am going to be stuck in a rut for the rest of my working life. And I can’t allow myself to waste my days for any longer.

So this new blog is going to be bigger and brighter than Fragments, with stories from everyday life and more pictures of food and places and family.. I may even include picture of myself this time, instead of remaining anonymous. But be patient with me. I have to get a feel for this. I have always been an intensely private person, and the thought of anybody judging me for being myself has crippled me. I know that I need to shake this off and be confident about who I am. Criticism and feedback are part-and-parcel of being a writer, and this is something I will have to accept or I may as well give up now.

So, I will take a deep breath… And begin.

8 thoughts on “Take Two!

Leave a Reply

